Loading Events
CAP UCLA

Event Navigation

Ann Hamilton and SITI Company the theater is a blank page

Buy Tickets

April 28, 2018 @ 8:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 8:00pm on Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday, repeating until May 12, 2018

ROYCE Hall
340 Royce Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90095 United States

Ann Hamilton and SITI Company
the theater is a blank page

Sat, Apr 28, 2018 at 8PM
Sun, Apr 29, 2018 at 2PM
Tue, May 1, 2018 at 8PM
Wed, May 2, 2018 at 8PM
Thu, May 3, 2018 at 8PM
Fri, May 4, 2018 at 8PM
Sat, May 5, 2018 at 2PM & 8PM
Sun, May 6, 2018 at 2PM & 8PM
Tue, May 8, 2018 at 8PM
Wed, May 9, 2018 at 8PM
Thu, May 10, 2018 at 8PM
Fri, May 11, 2018 at 8PM
Sat, May 12, 2018 at 2PM & 8PM
Royce Hall

The Center for the Art of Performance is honored to bring back New York-based SITI Company. A world-renowned ensemble, SITI Company is lauded for its innovation and the creation of new forms of theater that challenge accepted norms and defy classification. Their recent work, the theater is a blank page, is a much-heralded collaboration with celebrated visual artist Ann Hamilton, internationally recognized for the sensory surrounds of her large-scale multimedia installations. Hamilton has a long history of including performative elements in her installation work, and the theater is a blank page demonstrates her interest in shaping performance from a conceptual, visual art-based perspective. Co-directed by Hamilton and acclaimed SITI Co-Artistic Director Anne Bogart, the project draws equally on SITI Company’s impeccable skills as theater-makers, pushing their aesthetic into fresh, new territory.

This immersive performance installation utilizes the entirety of the theater, as the audience is led through the balconies, to the production shops, into the wings and finally onto the stage itself. With text drawn directly from Virginia Woolf’s 1927 novel To the Lighthouse, the novel’s evocative language and inventive narrative—which skillfully deploy shifting temporal and psychological perspectives alongside poignant ruminations on loss, subjectivity and perception—make it a fertile point of departure for artists of different disciplines to find deep kinship in a collaboration addressing the experience of reading and being read to.

Organizer

CAP UCLA

Other

Ticket Type
Buy Tickets
Ticket/RSVP link
http://cap.ucla.edu/calendar/details/ann_hamilton_siti16

Venue

ROYCE Hall
340 Royce Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90095 United States
+ Google Map